Pride Road Sign - 7 Deadly Sins Series

About a year ago, I left the Charismatic church I fellowship with because of my exposure to Reformed Theology. I have been church shopping for a while now looking for a Reformed congregation to fellowship with. Finally, by divine providence, I found one I have attended for about 6months or more. I now hope to be admitted into membership and one of the requirements for admittance into membership is to go through a Baptismal/Discipleship class.

Today, I picked the material to be used for the classes and I am thinking to myself:  “I am not a new convert. I don’t need to go through all of these”.

First lesson to be taught: Sin.

Sigh! I can preach on sin, trace its origin and establish its universality. I can explain original sin and total depravity. I can quote all the quotable Scriptures that refer to the origins of sin in the Bible. I can explain the fall in Genesis 3. David’s prayer in Psalm 51, with specific reference to verse 5 is at my finger tip. How about Romans 3:23? Easy! I can define sin as contained in the Westminster Shorter Catechism Q&A 14 “Sin is any want of conformity unto, or transgression of, the law of God a. [a]. Lev. 5:17; Jas. 4:17; I John 3:4”

In fact I have written many articles which points to my understanding of sin. Let me share with you a few of these articles. The Dangers Of Sin,Christ Our Sin Bearer and Depart From Me…A Sinful Man. You see I know my way around the doctrine of sin.

Lesson chapter two to be undertaken is Salvation.

Again, I know what Salvation is. I don’t need to be taken through lessons about salvation or so I think. With my understanding of sin, I equally have a good understanding of the requirement for salvation. I can indeed preach on salvation and I have actually written a number of articles on salvation. Permit me to share a few with you: Born Again Into The Kingdom Of God,
Salvation By Grace Alone Through Faith AloneOur Ways Are Not God’s Ways The Gospel, Grace And Work The Water Of Life and True Discipleship: A Call To Follow Christ.

Sin and Salvation are just two of the many lessons I already know which I am to take in this class.

But as I ponder these things, I am reminded of Jesus’ answer to John The Baptist when He approached him for baptism. John tried persuading Jesus otherwise (John 3:13) but Jesus answered; “Let it be so now, for thus it is fitting for us to fulfill all righteousness.” (John 3:14).

If you have read up to this point, you might have already diagnosed a heart of pride. I won’t debate that at all. Probably, it is another reason I must take this class; the presence of pride in my heart. As Paul will say, “Knowledge puffs up…[and] If anyone imagines that he knows something, he does not yet know as he ought to know. ” (1Corinthians 8:1-2). The truth is, my understanding of these things and any other Christian doctrine I know must not become a hindrance to my receiving further instruction on those subjects. I don’t know it all. And my circumstance, i.e. moving from one church to the other demands I obey the laid down procedures of becoming a member of a local assembly, a necessity if one identifies with the Universal body of Christ.

Finally, maybe, I might be an Apollos, an eloquent man and competent in Scripture and yet I need to be called aside by a Priscilla and Aquila and explained to more accurately the way of God (Acts 18:24-28).

Could this be pride?

Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?(Romans 7:24).

Leave a Reply

